21st Annual COSA Announcement

April 18, 2013

21st Annual Chancellor's Outstanding Staff Awards

On April 29, 2013, fourteen individual UC Berkeley staff members and the members of six staff teams will receive the Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award (COSA). Chancellor Robert Birgeneau will be present to congratulate each award recipient, along with Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost George Breslauer and Vice Chancellor of Administration and Finance John Wilton.

A COSA is one of the highest honors bestowed upon staff by the Chancellor.  The award recognizes and honors individual staff and teams who, in addition to performing all their normal job duties with excellence, demonstrate exceptional initiative in contributing to the UC Berkeley campus community.

The Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Committee (CSAC) established this award program on behalf of the Chancellor and administers it each year.

Live Web-Streaming

On April 29, 2013 from 2 to 4pm, the 2013 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award ceremony will be streamed live on the web at: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/ucb-cosa.  The webcast will also be available for viewing after the event is over.

The recipients of the 2013 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Awards are:

2013 Individual COSA Recipients

  • Suzan Akin, CalCorps Public Service Center
  • Linda Algazzali, Fisher Center for Real Estate and Urban Economics
  • Sue Burchfield, Biosciences Divisional Services
  • Kira Blaisdell-Sloan, Department of History
  • Jeff Davis, Department of Music
  • Gillian Edgelow, Department of Gender & Women’s Studies
  • Malcolm Gaustad, Capital Projects/Inspection Services
  • Jeannie Imazumi-Wong, Department of Ethnic Studies
  • Ruben Mejia, Letters and Science Dean’s Office
  • Lily Mirels, Berkeley Stem Cell Center
  • Maria Lucero Padilla, Ethics, Risk & Compliance Services
  • Paul Riofski, Berkeley Nanosciences & Nanoengineering Institute
  • Katherine H. Walsh, The LEAD Center, ASUC Auxiliary
  • Rachel Winheld, Science@ Cal

2013 Team COSA Recipients

Cal Day Digital Communications and Design Team

  • Kathryn Bader, Office of Public Affairs
  • La Dawn Duvall, Office of Public Affairs
  • Ram Kapoor, Office of Public Affairs
  • Melani King, Office of Public Affairs
  • Sara Leavitt, Office of Public Affairs
  • Steve McConnell, Office of Public Affairs
  • Hulda Nelson, Office of Public Affairs
  • Emily Strange, Office of Public Affairs

Coalition for Education & Outreach

  • Meltem Erol, College of Engineering
  • Avi Rosenzweig, Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group
  • Kate Spohr, Synthetic Biology Engineering Research Center
  • Rachel Winheld, Science@ Cal

The Operational Excellence Productivity Suite bConnected Team

  • Ian Crew, Information Services and Technology
  • Gabriel Gonzalez, Law School Computer Services
  • Mimi Mugler, Information Services and Technology
  • Bernie Rossi, Information Services and Technology
  • David Scronce, Center for Organizational and Workforce Effectiveness (now known as Learning + Organizational Development)
  • Jon Skelton, Information Services and Technology
  • Michele Tomkin, Information Services and Technology

Stay Day

  • Jackie Blossom-Garcia, New Student Services
  • James Carroll, Residential Programs
  • Annalyn Cruz, Vice Chancellor Student Affairs Immediate Office                               
  • Kristin Delo, Residential Programs
  • Courtney Franks, Financial Aid Operations
  • Sabina Garcia, Vice Chancellor Student Affairs Immediate Office
  • Rachel Klein, College of Environmental Design Dean’s Office
  • Je Nell Padilla, Residential Programs
  • Lance Page, Vice Chancellor Student Affairs Immediate Office
  • Marcia Gee Riley, Vice Chancellor Student Affairs Immediate Office
  • Avi Rosenzweig, Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group
  • Jen Siecienski, University Village
  • Steve Sutton, Residential Programs
  • Deborah Tatto, Summer Sessions
  • Erin Wixson, Vice Chancellor Student Affairs Immediate Office

Student of Concern Committee

  • Susan Bell, University Health Services, Counseling Services
  • Connie Chiba, Disabled Students Program
  • Ivor Emmanuel, Berkeley International Office
  • Diane E. Hill, Graduate Division Dean’s Office
  • Hallie Lewis Hunt, Student Conduct and Common Standards Department
  • Nicole A. Miller, Police Department
  • Jeff Prince, University Health Services, Counseling Services
  • Michael Tran-Taylor, Housing and Dining Services

Technology Transfer Program

  • Helen S. Bassham, Institute of Transportation Studies
  • Laura Melendy, Institute of Transportation Studies
  • Dana Oldknow, Institute of Transportation Studies
  • Eduardo Cuenca Serafin, Institute of Transportation Studies
  • Bernadette Tan Edwards, Institute of Transportation Studies
  • Afsaneh Yavari, Institute of Transportation Studies

Descriptions of all the award recipients’ accomplishments will be available on the CSAC website starting April 29, 2013.  See http://csac.berkeley.edu/cosa/2013-cosa-recipients.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2013 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Awards!